Brave young mum supports RoSPA nappy sack campaign

Beth Amison with baby Maison

Beth Amison with baby Maison

Mum-of-two Beth Amison, aged 23, from Staffordshire, promotes nappy sack safety following the death of her seven-month-old son Maison in 2013. This is her story.

My world fell apart because of a nappy sack but how do I sum up the worst day of my life? How do I explain how empty I feel and how my heart hurts so much that I can’t breathe?

It was on March 7th 2013 that I went into my seven-month-old baby son Maison’s bedroom to wake him up – only it wasn’t his beautiful smile I was greeted with. Instead Maison was lying in his cot with a handful of nappy sacks scattered around him and one was covering his face.

From this moment on, it’s all a painful blur but I know that 999 was called and my house was full of paramedics desperately trying to save my baby’s life. I knew he was gone and that it was too late.

Our changing stand had been placed next to the cot, as many people’s are, and in the pockets of the stand, I had placed nappy sacks months and months before. To be honest, I had forgotten they were already there.

Our cot was on the highest setting because Maison had never crawled. He could sit, but only if you placed him that way. However, that day he must have learned to stand for the first time as that’s the only way he could have reached the changing stand.

Nappy sacks are usually brightly coloured and make a rustling sound so babies find them very attractive. They are made of thin plastic, which easily covers the face and can be sucked down the airways. As they are used to dispose of soiled nappies, these sacks also aren’t required by law to have safety holes like plastic carrier bags, so they are more dangerous to children.

Babies have a natural grabbing reflex and put things into their mouths, but then they cannot get them back out and as they get older, they start to become mobile and can find items that you thought were put away.

Baby Maison

Baby Maison

RoSPA records data on these tragedies and research has found that nappy sacks have claimed the lives of at least 16 babies, ranging from newborns to one-year-old. Since Maison died, I share the dangers of nappy sacks to other parents through my Facebook page called Maisons Memory and my advice to other parents and carers is to ask yourself some important questions.

Questions like how many of you have nappy sacks on the side, possibly in reach of a child? or are nappy sacks in the changing bag, zipped away, but the changing bag is within reach?
Do you assume because you haven’t seen your baby stand or crawl yet that they can’t?

Since Maison’s death, I have had two more children, who are currently 18-months-old and six-weeks-old, but I don’t use nappy sacks anymore.

I urge anyone who is around babies to think about the possible dangers before they become a problem. Don’t have the “it won’t happen to me” or “it didn’t do me any harm, so I’m not going to think about it” attitudes because when tragedy strikes, it leaves you heartbroken forever.

One Comment to “Brave young mum supports RoSPA nappy sack campaign”

  1. I have a 2 year old Grandson, We use Nappy sacks, clear ones, that stays in Baby changing bag, dirty nappies went into nappy changing bags straight into bin, and all connect together So he can not get to the sacks, as the bin is closed, he can not see them so he isn’t interested in them either,
    The box of nappy sacks that come out with us is in a zipped pocket in the baby’s changing bag that is in a cupboard out of reach of babes eyes and little hands,
    babies are cleaver and always want to imitate, Mum or Dad, You always have to be one step ahead at all times, they are very good copiers and do what you do, Our changing bag is but on a shelf in the wardrobe were he cannot reach, child locks on kitchen cupboards were his medication is, and anything he can hurt himself with, the cupboard he can go into is with his plastic plates and mugs and his plastic knives forks and spoons, as he likes helping to lay the table

Leave a Reply

