Born to run

I’ve set myself more targets than an NHS middle manager with an obsession for Gantt charts and network diagrams.

See you at the starting line!

See you at the finish line!

But, don’t worry – unlike the hollow-cheeked mandarin of a results-driven monolith, my goals for the Birmingham half-marathon are reasonably realistic.

I have one more week of training before the starting pistol is fired on Sunday, October 20.

But before I take up my position on the white line – where I’ll be doing the haka while smeared in embrocation – I’d like to run some numbers by you.

The build-up will see me undertake 6 miles at race pace on Sunday, a 40-minute recovery run on the Tuesday, a 40-minute tempo run on the Wednesday and a 50-minute easy run on the Friday.

So far I reckon I’ve run about 200 miles as part of my training programme.

I’m intending not to bring too much shame on myself, my family and the Society by running the 13.1miles inside two hours.

But my other “big” target, is not actually that big. I’ve set myself a very modest fundraising target of £500.

At the time of writing I’m about £100 short of this minuscule amount – albeit with quite a few promises in my top pocket.

But better a friendly refusal than an unwilling promise, says I. So, there’s absolutely no pressure there. Absolutely none. Won’t mind in the slightest. Not at all, etc., ad nauseam…

There are two ways to pay: you can visit my JustGiving page, where donating is super-quick and super-simple.

Or you can stump up through your mobile phone. Whatever network you’re on, simply text PLEA01 and an amount of £1, £2, £3, £4, £5 or £10 to 70070 – and please don’t forget to add Gift Aid to your donation.

For those with nothing better to do on a Sunday morning, the event will be screened live on Channel Five from 10am.

Michael Corley, RoSPA’s head of campaigns and fundraising

Leave a Reply

